Our St. George location will reopen for in-person shopping on June 14th! Our Mississauga and Scarborough stores will continue to operate online only. Web order pickups will remain available, by appointment, at all three locations. (See Details)
Looking to return or exchange a product? Review our policies and instructions. (See Details)

skip to main content

TIFA Presents

Nowadays And Lonelier

Gray-Cosgrove, Carmella
Our Price:
$19.95
Product availability, quantity, selected option, and price
Product Availability
QuantitySelected OptionPrice
Nowadays And Lonelier

Product Description

*AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER*

A vibrant debut story collection about loneliness and love, privilege and poverty, addiction and isolation - the search for connection and meaning in a workaday world.

For fans of Heather O'Neill's Daydreams of Angels, Ottessa Moshfegh's Homesick for Another World, and Carmen Maria Machado's Her Body and Other Parties, Nowadays and Lonelier features a cascade of characters seeking connection in the darkest alleyways and meaning in the mundane. In these pages, a ballet dancer navigates complex family ties that are frayed by addiction; a young girl discovers sex and sexuality in the nineties in Vancouver's Downtown Eastside; a lover sojourns in Egypt and exacts an unexpected revenge; and a barista and a painter weather an apartment fire in Montreal. The collection is concerned with the contrast experienced by working- and middle-class millennials, between access to education and art compared to a relative lack of access to secure jobs and housing - and how these conditions leave many straddling a world where mental health, addictions, and sex work are daily realities as they try to carve out space for themselves in times that are increasingly alienating.

Nowadays and Lonelier, Carmella Gray-Cosgrove's debut story collection, features vivid portraits of unsure yet hopeful people struggling to find a good life in a hard world.

ISBN 1551528711Binding Tradepaper